A Cinderella Wedding

Cinderella is blonde. I am blonde. Her dress is sparkly blue. Blue is my favorite color and sparkles make everything better. There’s a really fat cat in the movie. I have a fat cat that I love dearly… Murphy is nicer than Lucifer though. She talks to animals as if they’re humans. I talk to animals as if they’re humans.Cinderella rides in a pumpkin carriage in fall. Fall is my favorite season and pumpkins are freaking awesome. Cinderella loves to dance on gleaming floors with attractive men. I love to dance with my attractive man, especially on a shiny floor. Cinderella lives happily ever after in a glamorous castle overlooking a charming, historic town with cobblestone streets… I’m still working on that part.

But most importantly, Cinderella is kind when people are not so kind to her. Cinderella is ambitious and never lets fear get in the way. Cinderella, ladies and gentlemen, is my favorite Disney Princess. And if you know anything about me, it’s my love of Disney. It’s been there since I couldn’t walk – it’ll be there when my  grandchildren walk out the door to college. It’s not something you grow out of. It truly is a source of happiness in my life. It is timeless and unchanging – I can sit down and watch this movie and get the same feelings of bliss and peace as I did almost 20 years ago, plopped down in front of the VCR in my very own Cinderella costume.

Now, that being said – I’m getting married to my very own Prince Charming this fall in October! I can truly say that “the dream that I wished did come true.” My bridal shower and bachelorette party both have a fairytale theme tying them together with the wedding (thanks to my crazy talented, creative maids of honor who know my obsession with Disney is unparalleled).

I am not having the typical “Disney wedding.” There will be no mickey mouse ears or pixie dust to be found. You will find some subtle, classy Cinderella touches that add a timeless element to the day I have dreamt of ever since I was a little girl. The fact that my family is giving me the gift of my dream wedding… there are no words. Every girl should be able to feel like Cinderella on her big day… no matter what that looks like.  Here are some picture ideas to give you a feel of what I am aiming for as the designer of my Cinderella wedding.

Leave a Reply

